↑ Return to V30 Sync.com

V34 Shares

by
George Morgan
My articles
Follow on:

Page no: V34

 

Explanation
Video and Pics

Permissions

Permissions Give All

we usually avoid the

  • Can Invite, because it might lead to the issues below.

We use:

  • Can View
  • Can Edit
  • Can See Others

sync.com Permissions Give All
V33 sync.com Permissions Give All

- Click to enlarge

Folder Name on Shares

Shares Same Folder Names for All

when sharing a folder, all team members must use the same folder name.

Folder Name when joining a share

We use the same folder name: Here !team

Folder Name to use in Share
Folder Name to use in Share

.

Hence we are able to access from website directly into Windows Explorer.

  • Example syntax inside the website: file:///H:/Sync/!Team

Using Local Explorer.

Same Folder Name as in Site
Same Folder Name as in Site

.

Sync Create #DocSite Folder on each computer

Video link to trello

Video: Private

Cleanup after renamed Share

Multiple Team folder remained

Remove Folder for Guests

  • 1. Delete old team folder (or move it out of sync)
  • 2. Wait till folder is empty
  • 3. Accept the invitation
  • Renamed!

New Shared Folder Name
New Shared Folder Name

- Click to enlarge

Remove Folder for master

After renaming of the Team folder, some files remained duplicated.

We use AntiTwin because files have been moved to different folders.

Step1: Run Antitwin
Typically using paramfiles > 100KB

and delete all files that exist in the old team folder (here TeamNew)

via Select Deletable Folders

 

Step2:

Option A: Explorer Copy Files from old folder into new Folder

Then we move all files from the old folder (here Teamnew) into the new one.

Using the option: Skip, Do NOT override

 

.

Option B: Use Total Commander

We see that no files would be copied from the old folder.
Hence the new folder has everything.

There is only the .DS_Store file that should belong to the ignore list on Total Commander,

 

 

.

Ignore List Total Commander
It now includes also the syncinfo file

.

Step3: Wait until sync.com is in sync.
Step4: Delete old Folder

Best delete on the web frontend.

 

 

.

Quota on Shares

Renamed Shared Folder Counts against Quota

  • Renamed folder now counts against Quota
  • Shared folder before renaming

Renamed Shared Folder Counts against Quota
Renamed Shared Folder Counts against Quota

- Click to enlarge

Renamed Shared Folder Counts against Quota

Sync Shared Folder as my data

  • folder shared with me counts as my data

Sync Shared Folder as my data
Sync Shared Folder as my data

- Click to enlarge

Sync.com Sync Quota Exceeded after Share

Sync.com Sync Quota Exceeded after Share
Sync.com Sync Quota Exceeded after Share

- Click to enlarge

New Sync Folder

Source

  • New drive for Sync –> “H”
  • Go to Sync Options –> Options
  • From Change button –> change the folder Sync to H drive from D
  • First must do remap of the D drive
  • Step1: Log-in to your computer as an administrator.
  • Step2: Click the “Start” menu button, click “Control Panel” from the right-side of the menu and click “Performance and Maintenance.” Windows Vista users select “System and Maintenance.”
  • Step3: Select “Administrative Tools,” double-click “Computer Management” and select “Disk Management” from the left pane.
  • Step4: Right-click the drive you want to remap. Click “Change Drive Letter and Paths” and select “Change.”
  • Step5: Click “Assign the following drive letter,” select the drive letter you wish to use and click “OK.”
  • Step6: Click “Yes” at the confirmation prompt to change the drive letter.

New Sync Folder to H drive
New Sync Folder to H drive

- Click to enlarge

Sync Drive Use drive letter D.

Possibly need new drive letter.

Sync Drive Use D
V31 Sync Drive Use D

- Click to enlarge

Sync Folder Location

We use D:\ which will result in D\sync.

Sync Folder Location
Sync Folder Location

- Click to enlarge

Leaving Shares

Shared Folder
Shared Folder

- Click to enlarge

 
Error when Leaving Share

Error when Leaving Share
Error when Leaving Share

- Click to enlarge

Sync Reshare instead Move Files

Video link to trello

Video: Public

  • Problem: Account Full
  • Reason: Moved a Shared Folder to a new Location
  • –> Then the files become your files
  • Reason2: Left Share through the move operation
  • — Details of leaving Share and deleting files
  • Look at logs in Sync –> just to verify that, the user has left the share
  • 1. Delete Files (but only if see into even log that you left share)
  • 2. Do Share again
  • (no remote needed, if guest left the share)
  • 3. Accept again
  • 4. but move to correct directory

Performance

Video name: Slow Sync Pcloud far quicker

(no trello card)

Summary:

Video shows the difference of speed synching between Sync.com and Pcloud.

Video name: Sync.com Always Indexing

(no trello card)

Problems

Unknown Error When Sharing

Unknown Error When Sharing
Unknown Error When Sharing

- Click to enlarge

Missing Shared Folders

  • Shares for:
  • DocIn
  • PicInput
  • AudioIn
  • Contacts
  • Books
  • Videos
  • are existing in [email protected] sync (our master)
  • for all necessary sync accounts:
  • a.pivoli (user laptop)
  • b.martini (george BG)
  • t.drochenku (lap small)
  • g.barny (elite)
  • All shares are accepted under !Dat folders in every computer
  • Why they still does not exist in each computer, no idea –> Press reset and wait

Outcome Screen for Shared Folders under !Dat
Outcome Screen for Shared Folders under !Dat

- Click to enlarge

See more for Files